Bellevue Place Education Trust

BPET football tournament 2023

The Year 3 BPET football 2023 season drew to a close on 27 March.

With almost all BPET schools taking part, the tournament was split into the London and Berkshire hubs in order to accommodate all 156 participants, with Watling Park School and Rivermead Primary School being the hosts, with their superb football pitches.

Boys’ cup

In Berkshire, 32 boys from Year 3 took part, with a great final which saw Braywick Court School lift the trophy and bring home the gold medals. However, special mention goes to Rivermead’s goal keeper who stood out with some spectacular action during the final.

At the same time, 50 boys in London battled it out seeing Halley House School crowned the winners with Rutherford House School as runner up.

Girls’ cup

With a national lack of girls’ football offered in schools, we are very proud to offer our pupils the chance to train and compete: there were 74 girls taking part in the tournament!

34 pupils in Berkshire really enjoyed themselves, with the trophy going to Evendons Primary School who had a brilliant footballer in their team. However, runner ups from Braywick Court School were deserving opponents, and made Evendons work very hard for their gold medals.

In London, 40 girls played each other with the final between Rutherford House School and Deer Park School; the latter winning the trophy after a very engaging match which saw all coaches shouting advice and encouragement from the edges of the pitch.

Dan Bavington, who looked after the Berkshire hub, said: “It was a great opportunity to get all the schools together for two really high-quality tournaments. But besides who won, the most important aspect of these events is enjoyment, team work and movement. It was also a pleasure to see all participants taking great pride in representing their school.”

Special thanks go to Rutherford House School’s teacher James Richards who organises this yearly event.

Winners of the tournament:


2023 Halley House School

2022 Rutherford House School

2020 Whitehall Park School

2019 Rutherford House School


2023 Deer Park School

2022 Braywick Court School

2020 Rutherford House School

2019 Rutherford House School